Steen, Boone and Diers Take Top Honors in Care Delivery Innovation Match

Research award winners holding checks

UC Health President Richard Lofgren, MD, Tiffiny Diers, MD, Jill Boone, PharmD, Dylan Steen, MD, and Dean William Ball of the College of Medicine are shown in CARE Crawley Atrium.

Three researchers/clinicians have been awarded top honors in the Care Delivery Innovation Competition, co-sponsored by UC Health and the UC Academic Health Center. Held in CARE/Crawley Atrium Friday, Dec. 2, the event showcased successes in care delivery innovation and recognized novel ideas.

Dylan Steen, MD, assistant professor of internal medicine and UC Health cardiologist, was awarded $30,000, for his proposal titled, “Evaluation and Integration of Supermarket-Based Nutrition Counseling and Point-of-Purchase Dietary Teaching Model Within an Academic Healthcare System.”

Jill Boone, PharmD, professor in the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, and Tiffiny Diers, MD, associate professor of internal medicine and a UC Health physician, received $30,000 for their proposal titled, “Partnering With Patients to Improve Management of Chronic Pain in Primary Care Through Integrative Group Visits.”

This year’s competition focused on patient engagement, including initiatives that seek to actively involve patients in their care process to promote positive, healthy behaviors. Finalists’ presentations emphasized the point of empowering patients to assess their care to further improve our own care delivery.

This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Click Here to learn about our most recent COVID-19 updates including vaccine information, visitor restrictions, testing, and more.