UC Health Board Chair, Eight Others, Recognized by Cincinnati Business Courier

Cincinnati, OH – December 16, 2011 – The Cincinnati Business Courier has selected George Strike, chair of the UC Health board, as the 2012 recipient of the Health Care Heroes Lifetime Achievement Award. Additionally, eight individuals from UC Health and the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine have been chosen as finalists for the 2012 Healthcare Heroes awards.

Upon announcement of the news, James A. Kingsbury, President & Chief Executive Officer of UC Health, said the following:

“George was selected based upon his unbridled and unparalleled passion for excellence in patient care; his remarkable service as a volunteer board member; and his deep and unrelenting devotion to building a vibrant health system that can readily meet the medical needs of our community.”

Strike has a long history of distinguished service as a volunteer board member for healthcare institutions affiliated with the University of Cincinnati: he was one of the principle founders of the Health Alliance of Greater Cincinnati in 1995, which, although no longer in existence, started the consolidation of healthcare systems in Cincinnati and served the community well for over 15 years. He was one of the principle Health Alliance trustees and ultimately chairman who assisted with the difficult but successful process of transitioning partners out of the Alliance. Each transition was effectively managed and each hospital continued successful operations and found a “new home.” Most notably, Strike was one of three trustees who led the creation of UC Health over the past two years.

Strike was instrumental in helping UC Health create an innovative structure with the University of Cincinnati to make UC Health, the College of Medicine and other components of UC stronger. It formed the only academic health system in the region, embracing all three missions of patient care, education and research and laying the groundwork for a powerful system long into the future.

Finally, Strike played an active role in integrating UC Physicians into UC Health and fully aligning all of the clinical components while still remaining aligned with the College of Medicine. This new structure is seen as a model for academic medical centers nationally.

The UC Health and College of Medicine associates and faculty who were named as finalists include, by award category:

Community Outreach

  • Dr. Leah Casuto, Lindner Center of HOPE
  • Ruby Crawford-Hemphill, University of Cincinnati Medical Center
  • Dr. Michael Lyons, University of Cincinnati


  • Dr. Jed Hartings, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
  • Dr. Olivier Rixe, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine


  • Nancy Barone, UC Health University Hospital
  • Dr. Thomas Boat, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine


  • Dr. Edward Richards, UC Health

About UC Health

UC Health includes University of Cincinnati Medical Center, ranked the best hospital in the region by US News and World Report; West Chester Hospital, Cincinnati’s newest hospital; Drake Center, Cincinnati’s premier provider of long term acute care; UC Physicians, Cincinnati’s largest specialty practice group with 650 board-certified clinicians and surgeons; the Lindner Center of HOPE, the region’s premier mental health center, and  the UC Cancer Institute, the UC Cardiovascular Institute, the UC Neuroscience Institute and the UC Diabetes and Endocrinology Institute. To learn more, visit UCHealth.com.

Press Contact
Matt Kramer
UC Health

This entry was posted in Press Releases and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Click Here to learn about our most recent COVID-19 updates including vaccine information, visitor restrictions, testing, and more.